Bureaucracy!

Well that’s fun. Just got back from the Venlo Gemeentehuis and it seems that, yet again, I am in need of something that no one told me I needed before I left. Apparently they would like me to acquire a form that declares I have never been married. What I want to know is…WHY?!?!?! This is going to be a royal pain in the ass to get, I am sure. I’ll have to get a hold of the Ontario Government, get them to concoct some sort of ridiculous form after going through my records, making sure that I’ve never gotten hitched. THEN I’ll have to send it off to the Ottawa Ministry of Foreign Affairs for legalization. THEN I’ll have to send it to the Dutch consulate for authentication. So lame.

It’s not really the process of getting the form that bothers me though. The real rant is: why do I need this? I could understand if I came to the NL with an already existing marriage and had to prove that for it to be recognized here. I could also understand why they would need it if I was trying to tie the knot here and had to prove I’d never been married elsewhere. But I am not doing either of those things. I’m just living here. I dare say, it is ridiculous!

In other news, off to see Harry Potter tonight! :)

This entry was posted in Visa & Immigration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bureaucracy!

  1. Jillian Michaels says:

    You might have everyone else convinced but I seem to remember a “To My Wife” card given to me last Valentines Day…

  2. Ashley says:

    That’s the weirdest thing ever…. Not once have i heard of getting a form to prove that you have NEVER been married?!?!?! crazyyyyyy!! did they at least give u a reason why?!

    • Nope! They didn’t tell me why at all. It’s really dumb. Even better is the fact that they call the form a “non-impediment declaration” hahaha!!! Marriage is a serious impediment.

  3. Lois says:

    this is ridiculous! did you go into the place with Michiel? are they giving you a hard time cause shes got some beef of you taking away all the good local men? can you go back in by yourself and see if you get a different person? I have a feeling they are just being difficult, and sassin you bigtime.

    • Sassin’ me big-time indeed!
      Nah its all the same, one person or the next. The Dutch love their bureaucracy :P I even already got the marriage form from the Canadian Embassy but its still not even legit because I haven’t gone to go get it legalized yet at the Ministry of Foreign Affairssssss. Crazy.

Leave a Reply

