Baking in the Netherlands

After living here for over half of a year, I’ve come to the conclusion that most Dutch people are not really all that into baking. I’m sure there’s got to be a few that are, but I don’t really think it’s as much of a hobby here as it is for some people in North America.

This is the biggest bag of flour I can get at the Albert Heijn.

Being a person who likes to ‘get their bake on’ rather frequently… well, pretty much daily… problems can arise when certain ingredients are seemingly nowhere to be found. There are two main grocery stores where we live. One is the Lidl (like the “No Frills” of Canada) and the other is the Albert Heijn (like “Loblaws”). I think the only baking ingredients you can find at the Lidl are sugar, eggs, and cinnamon. That ain’t gonna get you very far. But the plus side of Lidl, though they don’t have much selection, is that what they do have is nice and cheeeeeap.

With a clothespin to show ridiculous size.

As for the Albert Heijn, they do have a small baking aisle. You have 1 or 2 types of flours, an array of vastly expensive nuts/seeds in ridiculously tiny containers, and a crapload of mixes, mostly for pancakes (Dutch people love their pancakes). You also have baking powder, yeast and vanilla. Let’s stop for a moment and talk about the vanilla. The photo to your left is the absolute biggest container of vanilla extract I have been able to find. I buy like 5 at a time. I don’t know whether to blame this on the fact that baking isn’t popular here, or the fact that most items in the grocery store are smaller than I’m used to. Bulk or economy sizing just doesn’t happen here. But maybe (definitely) I’m just spoiled since I grew up with Wal-Mart.

Moving along…

Icing sugar in a tube!

It took me a long time to figure out where the other essential baking staples are. Things like cocoa powder and sugar are just in completely different aisles. They don’t put this stuff together in one aisle because people don’t use it for the same things. Sugar, even brown sugar (called “basterd” sugar here) and icing sugar (which comes in a tube, believe it or not!) is to be found near the coffee. Cocoa powder is with the chocolate. I guess that’s logical. But not if you’re baking cake, like I was, for Michiel’s birthday last month. I also wanted to write “Happy Birthday” in coloured icing on top of the cake, but that was not easy since they don’t do food colouring here. I asked a girl in the baking section if they had it, and she looked at me like I had 5 heads and said “oh… no… that would be very hard to get here.” It was as if I had asked her to find me a rare and exotic black market delicacy.

Then there’s the elusive baking soda. This tricky little ingredient evaded me for the entire first 6 months I lived here. It is not in any grocery store, and trust me, I’ve asked. (even using my iPhone as a translator, in case there was a Dutch word for Baking Soda I was missing). It’s not at the drug store either. At first, I gave up. I decided to live with the fact that I wouldn’t have light, fluffy muffins. And it wasn’t so bad, they weren’t too dense, they just didn’t rise during baking. Eventually I forgot about it all together.

And then came the banana bread disaster of July…

The elusive baking soda

I should have known better than to bake a quick bread without baking soda. It didn’t rise at all, it turned out as just a soggy, brick-like hard pile of muck. Not. Even. Edible. Never have I had a baked good go so wrong. In a fit of rage I consulted the internet, scouring expat forums for a trace of baking soda like a crack addict searches for cocaine. Finally, a few people mentioned that the ingredient can be acquired at an obscure little Asian supermarket. I asked Michiel to pick some up on the way home from work. It wasn’t Arm & Hammer, but it was glorious. And now I make light and fluffy zucchini bread!

Now, with all that said, I don’t mean to be complaining. I really don’t have anything to complain about, since living in the Netherlands is awesome. But there are a couple things that take some getting used to, and that’s what moving to a new place is all about. I love finding ways to adapt. It just takes a little thinking outside the box sometimes. Take, for example, trying to find a rack to cool your cookies on. Which doesn’t exist here either. After trying grocery stores and cookware stores, as a last resort we made the trek to Ikea, since they HAD to have cookie racks. Ikea has everything. Except, apparently, cookie racks. Frustrated, I said to Michiel “Let’s just look for ANY mesh-like-thing and we’ll buy it” as I eye-balled the store’s wire display shelving units. After walking around aimlessly, Michiel pointed out: “Hey, what about THIS?”

It was genius. It was brilliant.

It was a 3-level office letter stacker.

It saves a ton of counter space in our tiny kitchen, and I can cool 3 levels of cookies, muffins or breads at once! I never want to use a regular cookie cooling rack again. This thing is awesome. Gotta love those small triumphs in life. It was one small step for cookies, and one giant leap forward for baked goods in the Netherlands.

This entry was posted in Funny Dutch Things, Life in the Netherlands, Things I miss and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Baking in the Netherlands

  1. Barb says:

    The cooling rack is ingenious! Who’d a thought? Ikea could remarket that and make a killing.
    Are those cranberry muffins I see? And the bread? It all looks yummy.
    This blog entry was hilarious.

  2. Thomas says:

    Ha! You North Americans and your silly baking soda habits…

  3. Chie says:

    I love the kitchen scale:)

  4. Michiel says:

    I’d rather say “one giant leap forward for Michiel’s belly!” :-)

  5. Inge says:

    This post is hilarious! But how come I’ve never even heard about baking soda?! There must be a Dutch version of this of some kind, people do bake muffins and banana bread around here without failing miserably all the time, right? Btw those muffins look fantastic! :-)

  6. Dad says:

    Looks great….Whatever happened to your low-carb fixation though….?

  7. Catherine says:

    I think you should go into business – your baking looks fantastic. We sampled some of your mother’s muffins this week when we stayed with them in Unionville. Delicious! I know in England it is sometimes difficult to interpret recipes because they use either plain or self-raising flour which has baking powder already added. Very confusing. As always, love your blogs – keep em coming!

  8. Shirley says:

    I came across your blog looking for the same thing. Well, we found the baking soda in an Asian store and its arm & hammer. What I’m currently looking is where I can find atleast a kilo of confectioner sugar. Well, I think they don’t have it. oh! and no chocolate chips too.

  9. Amy says:

    I am Canadian and just moved to Den Haag a few weeks ago. I also love baking and have already noticed a few of the things you mentioned. I found baking soda in the tiniest of packages (1 tsp) each. Still haven’t found the vanilla. But when I find that giant bottle you mention I will stock up also. This post made me laugh so hard! Thanks!

  10. laurenadelef says:

    I came across your post after having this exact experience last night when whilst trying to bake a banana cake. The icing sugar container made me laugh, as if putting it on poffertjes is the only thing it’s useful for. Same with the millions of pancake mixtures. I still haven’t found baking soda!! Thanks for the entertaining read :D

  11. Jessica Pritchard says:

    I loved reading this haha, I moved to the Netherlands a couple of months ago from the UK and can relate to a lot of the problems you came across in the grocery shop too!!

  12. lizbeth says:

    I’m an American living here for four years been visiting my family and I am stocking up on some of the baking supplies before I come back. Especially real vanilla extract I love that stuff. I use it for everything. I am even bring a Cricut 2 for one of my friends only available in the US. Now if someone can tell me where to get a spiral sliced ham in Europe I would be happy :).

  13. Erika Simpelaar says:

    Having grown up in South Africa, I was used to doing a lot of baking. Since being in the Netherlands it’s become challenging. It was a relief when Marks and Spencer had stores here as they stocked baking soda, etc. They have since closed down but we travel to Belgium and shop at Carrefour once in three months and I can stock up on a few baking products. I also drive to the UK two or three times a year and stock up on the balance of my baking necessities. It’s worth the drive as the Eurotunnel is cheap when you only go overnight and products in the UK are cheap in comparison to the Netherlands. I normally shop in Ashford which is 20 minutes from the tunnel and all the necessary stores are there (Sainsbury, Waitrose, Marks and Spencer) some open 24 hours (Asda). There is also a South African shop in Amersfoort where you can get Vanilla, baking soda and baking powder.

Leave a Reply

